Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Feb 21, 2005, 9:30 AM   #1

I am considering a SLR digital to replace my regular SLR. I only use it in AUTO. How is the contrast, lighting and color of photos taken in AUTO in various conditions indoor and out, from just turning on the camera and shooting.

Thanks

wiste
wiste is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 22, 2005, 10:19 AM   #2

I am a new D70 owner, and I am still learning the capabilities of the camera. If you only want to use the camera in AUTO, then I think you are wasting your money on a camera like the D70. You will be missing out on what the camera will do!! For just AUTO mode, you would probably be better off with a "Point and Shoot" digital.
Bob Ayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2005, 11:11 AM   #3

I would agree its a lot more money but don;t you agree that an SLR has photos that are much much better quality....they are crisp and clear and detailed.

I only use my regularSLR camera in auto and I get that EXTRA quality that I do not get in a point and shoot.

Have you used yours in AUTO, could you tell me how it works if you change nothing...? IS the balance of light good, the color good ? any troubles that you found that made you HAVE to change a setting ?

Thanks for responding!

wiste

Old Feb 22, 2005, 12:20 PM   #4

well one photographer on a site said it best.
use auto and worry about composition.
made sense, although i myself prefer aperture priority.
he said there's a 135+ years of camera history in your camera, why not use auto?

i guess i can understand his viewpoint
sorta like, learn how to drive properly and well, before fine tuning your car to how want or like it to run.

here's a quote from ken rockwell, go to his site, he's very insightful