Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Mar 6, 2005, 4:07 AM   #1

I was reading about the Canon EOS professional cameras and they claim the abilitiy to write both RAW and Jpeg data for each shot taken.

Naturally this would take a large amount of space, but I was wondering as I am new to digital photography if this would enable me to determine the value of a RAW file for what I would like to use the camera for.

That is, for a general picture is the investment of time to process the RAW file and prepare for printing significant when compared to the time to print a JPEG and does it produce a visual difference? Having both files for the same shot would allow me to judge this.

As I understand it, RAW allows for putting details out of over and underexposed areas. Not sure if I will be needing this a lot or if it would be a timesink for me.
Xraptorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 6, 2005, 4:35 AM   #2
kex

yes. the nikon d70 can write nef (raw) and jpeg files at the same time.

kex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2005, 4:42 AM   #3

The D70 can write RAW and JPG files at the same time but only woith the lowest quality JPG setting. These would not be particualry good for printing.

RAW files do not necessarily take a great deal of post processing. I downloaded Nikon View, free from the Nikon website, this does a better job than the supplied Picture Project and in my opinion does a better job of processing the RAW files than Photoshop if everything is about right with the photo. It creates pictures very similar to the JPG files with very little effort. Photoshop is much better for processing the RAW files if you need or want to make adjustments.
Nagasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2005, 4:47 AM   #4