Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Mar 10, 2005, 12:14 PM   #1

Hello Digital Experts,

I finally entered the digital world and bought a new D70 camera. So far I am really enjoying it. However, I am a bit confused in regards to adjustments on the camera vs Adobe Photoshop. I am pretty new to both.

What I have noticed that after I have taken some pictures I use my computer to make some adjustments to the digital image. The program I use is Adobe Photo Shop. In this program, I use the LEVEL adjustments to correct the picture usually lightening the image. What I am trying to understand is:

1. Is this LEVEL adjustment the same thing as what the camera calls "White Balance"?

if not.

2. What is the difference between these two and is it better to do it in once place rather than the other.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Pete

[email protected]
Peterob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 10, 2005, 2:58 PM   #2

White balance is not the same as photoshop levels. White balance is adjusting the sensitivity of the sensor to suit the available lighting. The most obvious example you can try is take a photo indoors without flash and lit by a normal bulb. If you set the camera white balance to auto the photo will come out withvery orange tones. If you take the same shot setting the white balance on the camera to the bulb symbol the colours will be much more natural looking.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"If you are using Photoshop CS you can adjust the white balance of RAW files while reading them in. With this you can select any of the camera presets or adjust the temperature & tint to get the best colour rendition.