Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Apr 18, 2005, 7:08 PM   #1

I have the D70 kit with the 18-70 lens it comes with.

I want to take closeups of objects probably no smaller than the size of a matchbook. I want the object to fill pretty much the entire frame.

The closest focus distance on the 18-70 is 1.2 feet, and on the built-in flash 2 feet. At that distance, I can't do the closeups.

If I zoom in with the 18-70, I can fill most of the frame with the object.

As a newbie, my question is: do I sacrifice picture quality (eg, sharpness) by using the zoom-in method with the 18-70, as opposed to using a Nikon micro lens?

Second: assuming I wanted to spring for a Nikon micro lens, what are my options?

And I assume I'll also need to purchase a speedlight so I can get closer than 2 feet? What options here?

Thanks!
hooha is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 19, 2005, 7:30 PM   #2

I am new to the D70 also and what I have discovered is to set the camera to macro mode,frame and focus yourtarget and take the photo. Also shoot at the highest megapixel setting. When you download the photo, you can experiment with cropping to get the desired macro shot. I have done this several times and with the highest mp setting, the photo turns out well. I am using the basic lens that comes with the camera.
orbitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2005, 5:36 AM   #3