Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Jul 15, 2005, 8:41 PM   #1

Hi. This post is also about d70 vs d50..sorry about the title..

After reading lots of reviews online soon to turn crazy i have decided on purchasing a nikon digital slr. I am not sure about whether to go for d70 or the d50. This is my first slr camera and i would like to get the most from this deal.

After reading reviiews i have noticed some issues with d70, mainly the noise on highher ISO values and the moire issue. This latter is resolved in the d50. Does the updated firmware improve on the iso? What about the ISO200 vs ISO100 offered by the "cheaply designed" rebelxt?

I would like to be able to shoot at higher ISO values ,but i am not sure whether this is a real issue or if it is one of the typical technial specs people focus on.

I am only a hobby photographer, but i am very competent in using photoshop so i do not mind post processing. I do see that the d50 still also offers more or less the same features as d70..

Do you recomend the d50 or the d70 in my case?

Any comments are greatly appreciated.

I will enjoy moving to the world of slr

thanks

lroenning is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 17, 2005, 9:41 AM   #2

Hi, I am also recently been looking at the Nikon d50, and some advantages I like over the d70/d70s is the d50's lower price and size (which is why I'm also considering the Pentax DS also).

Now regarding the noise and moire:

A) the noise at iso 1600 seems to be slightly better than the d70
http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/ni...ew/index.shtml

B) there is still some moire and is not as noticeable as the d70
look at the four mini corner towers
http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/ni...w/DSC_0162.JPG

look at first column and arch way
http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/ni...w/DSC_0155.JPG

Hopefully when Steve is done with the review I can then make up my mind.

Jobbie is offline   Reply With Quote