Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Jan 1, 2006, 1:18 PM   #1

I know Nikon D200 is new and probably have the latest bells and whistles but 20D has been raved by many and 5D is sort of standard to compare with. I am new to all this DSLR business and am totally confused after reading specs. Here are my questions:

a. What is the real difference in quality and noise at all ISO settings between them?
b. What are the advantages D200 have over others becuase it is new and latest?
c. with 20D being cheapest of the group what do you loose in features and picture quality compared to other two?
harana is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 2, 2006, 7:32 AM   #2

5D is sort of standard to compare with.

-----------------------------------------------------

I have had the D200 and the 5D in my hands and have taken pictures with them both. So here is my low down.

1.) The D200 feels more solid

2.) Picture quality and ISO noise ? Well I shoot a lot of wildlife and do not go above 400 ISO. I did shoot both at 400 ISO and could tell no "big" differance between the two. When I do shoot at 800 ISO,I always usenoise removal software.

As for the 20D ? I have never liked it. I do not like its over all feel or build. I have never liked Canons big wheel on the back. But then I do like the button layout on my F5 and most do not. As I always state at workshops I do, do not take all reviews or write ups on cameras as the word to go by.

DonR.
regandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2006, 8:31 PM   #3

I agree that one can not go on the reviews alone and actual feel of the camera in one's hand is the real test of ergonomics.

Is the focusing system on D200 much better than 5D and 20D?

I have an old Nikon SB-28 flash light. Would it work with D200 in TTL mode?
Old Jan 2, 2006, 9:15 PM   #4