Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Mar 9, 2003, 9:49 AM   #1

Default D1, D1h or D100??

Hi, I am new to DSLR~
don't know how to consider between D1, D1h and D100...
D1 - cheap and fast, F5 body + F100 functions, but old, just 2.74mp, discontinued. Can choose 2nd hand which at least has been used for 2 years. (2nd hand cheaper then D100)
D1h - Hot, with D1's most advantages, very fast burst shooting, still can buy for 1st hand with firmware that will be out in a later time. But expensive and just 2.74mp.
D100 - sporty, cheap, new, 6mp. But not as much function as the above ones. And not as fast.

What should I choose? Or should I wait a bit longer till Nikon D2 is out? thx~
Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 9, 2003, 10:50 AM   #2

You'll have to tell us what you plan on using it for. That is what really matters.

I know more about the D100 because that is what I will get. But that is based on cost, not features. I'd love to get the faster burst rate and better auto focus of the D1x, but not at that price!!!

I noticed that you don't list the D1x. Is that because of cost?

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2003, 10:57 AM   #3
NHL

Don't forget the Fuji S2... It does not have a 'Nikon' nametag, but just like some of the Kodaks... will take on the Nikon lenses as well as their accessories flashes... Uses AA niMh rechargeable and comes with a Firewire port just like the D1's! 8) 8) 8)

Unlike the Nikon's it also takes Smartmedia (of limited use I would think)... Kind of a supercharged D100! :lol: :lol: :lol:
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2003, 4:00 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by eric s
You'll have to tell us what you plan on using it for. That is what really matters.