Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Jan 9, 2006, 7:45 AM   #1

This is probably a dumb question, but a digital newbie here.

The D-50 does not have a customizeable white balance option...and I will be taking pictures of beaches and rain forests that can be a problem for in-camera programmed light settings. However, my understanding of RAW captures are that I could take a picture of anything in RAW and then adjust the white balance (among other stuff) in something like Photoshop or Elements 4.0. Is this correct?

If so, then the white balance issue is not really that big a deal. Thanks! --K
kmancpbh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 9, 2006, 7:53 AM   #2

I thought the D50 had a preset white balance option. It does according to Steve's review.

With a D70 I use the preset option and shoot RAW. In some circumstances it's not possible to use the preset option. I then shoot a picture that includes something white often just a white card. Using the Photoshop RAW convertor I can use the white dropper tool to select the white card. This then does an automatic white balance. I can then save the settings and use these on any other photographs taken under the same lighting.

Ken
Nagasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2006, 7:59 AM   #3

Drag and drop white balance.....that's awesome! Such is the beauty of digital photography.

I already have a 12% grey card, so that would most likely work as well. Cool stuff, thanks!
kmancpbh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2006, 12:32 PM   #4
DBB

kmancpbh wrote:
Quote:
Drag and drop white balance.....that's awesome! Such is the beauty of digital photography.

I already have a 12% grey card, so that would most likely work as well. Cool stuff, thanks!
Well I'm not familiar with the D70 - but note, he said "Custom White balance." This means with the aid of a card or my patented White Balance Dog, you make your own White balance setting.