Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Jan 14, 2006, 2:12 PM   #1

PLEASE tell me if I posted this in the wrong place or kindly (moderator) move it to the right place...I wasn't sure where to post this (what camera should I buy, newbie) but it's a comment not a question and it's about the D50 so here goes:

I am a novice, this is my first dSLR and I've only owned the 2 lens kit D50 for a few days, but I wanted to give my first impression (besides I love it). I already knew it 'felt' great, but that was thanks to the y'alls great advice to go handle them in the store before buying. I already knew it was a great system because I had researched the various options and based on that research decided on the Nikon D50/D70s. Posts from the forum assured me that based on my novice status, the D50 would be plenty of camera for me (and they were so right and I am so greatful; see attached evidence in proof of that fact). I had read the extensive reviews on handling and features here at Steve's and other places so I kind of knew what to expect. BUT:

I am just delighted with what I consider 'intuitive' and 'natural' button, dial and menu characteristics. Just the right size and even if it takes the manual to learn how to 'set' something, it is 'logical', only takes one reading and I remember it. Settings that require more than one finger to set do not strain the hands and still allow solid 'grip' on the camera at the same time. Maybe there's a better set up out there, but I am veryhappy.

Based on my novice status, you will not be surprised that I have taken some really rotten pictures. (see attached forproof of rotten). But every rotten picture I take is a learning experience and THAT is what I wanted. Conversation with self...."Boy that picture bites, oh, I did this wrong for this situation (lighting, motion, etc.), how do I fix that next time, oh, THAT's what it was..." Plus the experimentation is fun.