Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Mar 20, 2003, 8:59 AM   #1

Default basic lens question

Now your really going to think I'm a dumb blonde but I have to ask this basic question. When I purchased my Nikon D100 I also purchased a Nikkor 24-85 3.5-4.5 G afs, and a nikkor 50mm1:1.4D lens. With all things being equal, when would I use the 50mm lens. The zoom covers that range and with over 300 shots taken, seems to give a clearer shot so far. I bought the two lens after reading alot of reviews but you can tell by this question that I'm new at SRL cameras. And heres one more question. Is there a huge difference between the 80-200 AF zoom and the 80-200 AFS zoom? I know the AFS costs around $700 more.
Thanks again and see ya on the mountain.
Hiking Girl
hiking girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 20, 2003, 10:28 AM   #2

Well, I don't know if you're a blond or not... but it isn't a dumb question either way. As they say, "there are no dumb questions, only dumb answers."

First, I'd be surprised if the zoom gave a sharper picture than the standard lens. The 50mm is a very good lens. But the reality is that theoritical sharpness doesn't matter if you don't do what is necessary to see the difference. So it is probably the same for your uses.

But to your question. Low light is the answer. The 50mm is a much faster lens. This will allow you to use a faster shutter speed in the same light, than the zoom. Or the same shutter speed and a lower f-stop. And that can make all the difference in the world. Try taking a picture indoors, at night, by candle light, using both lenses. You'll see the difference right away.

As to the AF vs. AFS question. What would you use that lens for? If you're taking pictures of fast moving things (birds, running dogs, kids playing basketball) then the AF-S might be worth it. If you're taking landscapes, or kids acting in a play... Then it probably isn't.