Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Mar 11, 2006, 2:22 AM   #1
rey

Anyone here actually use Spot Metering with their D50? I'm really new to SLR and very interested on learning spot metering, and I'm wondering if anyone here have used it with the D50.

Anybody out there who uses spot metering maybe you can tell us of any good books, websites, etc. about the topic. Any info is appreciated. I'm new to this, and I'm willing to learn. I figured since I just spent $1000 on a DSLR system, I don't wanna do just point and shoot with it. Are the Bahman Farzad books any good?

It would be nice if the info are regarding DSLRs and not 35mm or medium format cameras.

Thanks for any help.

rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 11, 2006, 6:56 AM   #2

Spot metering is most useful under tough lighting conditions. A classic example is when photographing a backlit subject. In this example, under matrix or even centerweight, the stronlgy lit background would cause the subject to be underexposed. Alot of birders also shoot with spot metering. What it and the other forms of metering do is fairly well explained in the manual.

There are many good books available on general photography basics. Thom Hogan has an ebook specifically on the D50 available on his website, http://www.bythom.com. Or you could just look on amazon. In reality, there is not much of a difference in how DSLR's and regular slr cameras work...the only major difference is the capture medium (film vs digital sensor). There are some minor difference (ie, lack of dynamic range for DSLRS) but nothing to really worry about.