Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Mar 29, 2006, 2:50 PM   #1

I'm new to the digital SLR world. I've pretty much decided on buying a D50 (though still could be persuaded). My questions are:

1. Does any one see any issues with buying a refurbished D50?

2. I'm going to South Africa on safari and want a good lense. What should I buy? Outside of this trip, I plan on taking mostly landscape photos. Furthermore, what other accessories should I consider buying.

Cheers!
Rookie McRookster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 29, 2006, 4:26 PM   #2

I bought a "factory demo", I think about the same as a refurbished unit. I have not had any problems at all. The lens kit I got was 28-80 and 70-300, I think a better choice would be the 18-70 but that adds money to the kit. I think it would be hard to hand hold anything longer than 300 so you might look into a mono-pod or tri-pod. Good luck and enjoy your trip Greg
flhtcui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2006, 5:18 PM   #3
rey

If it's refurbished by Nikon, then it should be alright. The only thing is, I don't think would get a 5 year warranty on the lens.

I don't know if you're in the US, (I've said this so many times here, that I should ask these folks for money) but I was able to buy a Nikon D50 with 18-55 lens and 70-300 lens and a Nikon bag from Cameta Camera on eBay for $680. You should check them out.

As far as safari, you'll probably need a long lens, and hopefully a fast one. The Nikon 70-300G that I got is probably too slow for shooting cheetahs on full speed. I would definately suggest you get a tripod, but a monopod would probably be better since it's more mobile. Bring a backup P&S as well in case your D50 breaks, and please play around with your D50 before going on the trip as it has a learning curve and last thing you want to happen is go home with crappy pictures after spending money on that trip.

Good Luck!