Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Apr 4, 2006, 9:29 PM   #1

Hi,

I'm new to posting in the forum and am in a bit of a quandary.
I know that I want the 18-70 mm lens and since the price of a D50 or a D70s with this lens is about the same. I would like to get some opinions about which is the better camera, advantages/disadvantages etc.

I'm a 35mm photographer from 35 years ago with a Nikkormat Ftn match needle exposure system (still use it.)

Thanks for your consideration.
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 4, 2006, 10:27 PM   #2

JimF-

I own both the D-70 and the D-50. IMHO the D-50 has the edge, and I have proved that to myself by purchasing the D-50 and using it for awhile. In fact I have my D-70 up for sale on E-Bay right now.

The Nikkor 18-70mm is an excellent lens and it is indeed worth a few more dollars over the Nikkor 18-55mm. IMHO you would be further ahead purchasing the D-50 with the Nikkor 18-70mm for starters.

MT

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2006, 11:11 PM   #3

One of the reasons a D50, besides being smaller may be the pick is noise vs ISO. At ISO 800 there is virtually no noise and there is about the same amount or less noise at ISO 1600 as there is with the D70 at ISO 800.

This is important if you are shooting any indoor sports activity, since even with a good f/2.8 zoom lens you will be shooting at 1/360 at ISO 1600 to get stop action.

mlhm5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2006, 2:31 AM   #4
rey

I got my D50 just a couple of weeks ago and I love it! But honestly, the only reason I didn't get the D70s is because of my budget. If they are both priced the same I'd buy the D70s. It has the following that I wish the D50 have:

White Balance fine tuning
Depth of Field preview button (you might miss this if you used it in 35mm SLR)
Built-in wireless flash remote (the add-on cost is ~$200)