Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old May 12, 2006, 9:56 AM   #1

I am getting confused reading the websabout high noises of the D200 and low noises of the D50. Why not test it?

I used to be a scientist (engineer) but am now retired and want to do things my way. What I wanted to know was pictures taken with D50 at ISO 1600 are better than those from D200?

I took these two pictures with lights from our kitchen. The magnetc wooden fish is on the refrigirater door. Both cameras on the same tripod, same setting and with MicroNikkor 60mm for both cameras. Both pictures taken in large jpeg file and did not do any processing except resized to 957 x 641 to fit the screen and reduced to smaller resolution with NikonCapture4.

This picture was from D50; L, JPEG FINE
Attached Images

ruchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 12, 2006, 9:58 AM   #2

This picture was from D200; L, JPEG FINE.
Attached Images

Old May 12, 2006, 2:06 PM   #3

Hi Ruchai,

high ISOs in good light aren't really a test of anything, especially when there's little or no shadow, and a light coloured background.

You really need to do this test in a situation where the camerasneed a high ISO just to give a reasonable shutter speed - in other words, "proper" low light.

A subject with more fine detail (which would be more vulnerable to detail loss caused by noise) would be good too.

I think the results then would be very interesting...

keithreeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2006, 2:11 PM   #4
rey

Most noise comparisons that I've seen, either online or print-magazines are from shots in much darker places, like inside a cathedral with very little light, or outside at night of a statue with the shot pointing up to a black sky. Noise tends to be more visible against black background.