Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old May 27, 2006, 3:38 AM   #1

I'm new to SLR camera and just bought my first DSLR Nikon D50 a couple of days ago. It came with a 18-55mm lens. I loved the picture i've taken and the lens seemed to be great. However, i'm going to Greece for my graduation trip in 10 days and want to take lots of pics with my camera. After reading some threads in the forum I'm worried that this lens may not have enough reach for me to take outdoor shots. I will mostly take landscape(sunset) and beach shots.

Now i'm considering buying Nikon 55-200mm or 70-300mmG or Sigma 70-300 Apo. The problem is i don't want to carry a tripod around on my trip and was wondering if it's possible to shoot pic handheld when using telephoto lens. Also, I read someone say that a wide angle lens(eg.Tokina 12-24mm) is better for landscape. Which is more important, have the wide angle or long reach, when taking landscape shots?

I really know nothing about photography and eager to learn. So please fill me in with all your explanations and suggestions. Your help will be much appreciated. thanks
miracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 27, 2006, 4:40 AM   #2

ruchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2006, 4:41 AM   #3

In the good old days most people, armature and professional alike, use camera with just one lens. I used to travel around the world with a Leica lllf with a single 50mm lens. Many people did that 30 years ago. The 18-55 kit lens is a very good all around lens. Very good for landscapes and portrait. You will have to learn more to use such lenses as 12-24 or 200mm. I suggest you go with your D50 and the 18-55 and you will be able to take most if not all of the pictures you want to. After you have more experiences and know what kind of photos you want to shoot, then youcan start thinking of additional lenses.

This picture wastaken with 18-55 kit lens.

Attached Images