Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Jun 23, 2006, 5:58 AM   #1

Hi folks. I'm a complete newbie to all this, only ever had a P&S camera before but after having used my girlfriend's D50 on a couple of "outings"... I've fallen in love and find I now NEED one... (have resisted as long as I can but resistance is futile!).

As I'm on a budget, I obviously need to make the best buy I can from the start and would really appreciate any help anyone can give me with the packages below as I'm really not sure which lens package to go with. :O

My main interests are wildlife andpets (particularly dogs and their activities - dog shows, agility, lure coursing etc). Zoom is very important to me! I am also interested in landscapes/scenery but know a different lens than anything listed below would be ideal for that (something to add later!)

My options are (for the exact same price which confuses me further)

: Nikkor 18-55mm and Tamron 70-300mmLD Zoom

or...

: Nikkor 18-55mm and AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G

Or for AU$100 more I can buy

Nikkor 18-55mm and AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED

Again.... :angry:

I'm rather confused by the whole thing quite frankly so any help would be very gratefully received. Any further info too on things I should consider addingon to my purchaseas well would be greatly appreciated.

Just to make this post more interesting :-)I've attached a pic I took at the zoowith my GF's D50 and the 70-300mm Nikkor G lens. Haven't done anything to it but resize for the web.

[align=center][/align]
Attached Images

wasaluki is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 23, 2006, 10:42 AM   #2
rey

The Nikon and Tamron 70-300mm are basically the same, I have the Nikon version and would probably get it over the Tamron one.