Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Sep 1, 2006, 9:27 AM   #1

I have used a Nikkormat FT3 for 29 years.I feel likeI am ready to make the leap to a digital slr. I have a nikkor 50mm lens and a Tokina SZ-X 210 lens. Can I use these on the new D80? Then all I will have to purchase is the body of the D80. Or since the D80 kit lens is an 18-135mm would I be wise to get that too? Even if the others would fit the new body. I am new to the digital slr game and would appreciate any help or advice anyone has to offer.
seusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 1, 2006, 9:49 AM   #2
rey

I'm not familiar with those lenses, but I think it'll be smart to get the 18-135 kit lens with it. You'll probably save $100. Also, if you really want the camera, I would pre-order it now, otherwise, it probably won't be available for until after Christmas. Nikon is bad at keeping up with demand on new products.

rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2006, 12:58 PM   #3

Rey

Thank you for your reply. I noticed on the Wolf Camera site that you could order the body with a Quantaray 18-200mm lens. Would this be a wise choice? Or am I better off with the kit lens? Also do you recommend a site for pre-order? Thank you for your help.
seusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2006, 2:23 PM   #4
rey

My guess is the Quantarray lens is made by Tamron. In this scenario, I'd probably go with quality instead of longer focal length and get it with Nikon 18-135. It cost less too.

For place to buy, I would suggest B&H, but it looks like they don't take pre-orders, so I would go with Adorama.com they're a legit online store.