Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Nov 23, 2006, 5:15 PM   #1

The big sales start tomorrow and they have just introduced the new Nikon D40. In the reviews it says can only except lenses that are AF-S or AF-1. What does this mean? Ifa lense just says AF, would it work???? Thanks
jhawley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 23, 2006, 5:33 PM   #2

Non AF-S lenses will only work in manual focus - not autofocus.

Keith.
keith1200rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2006, 5:49 PM   #3

i am a newbie at this and I don't want to sound too stupid. I have a N50 with the orginal package lense and a Quantray 70-300. It says made for Nikon AF. So would these be interchangable to the D40 that excepts AF-3 or AF-1?
jhawley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2006, 6:21 PM   #4

Those lenses will not auto focus with the D40. Only the newer lenses designated AF-S will autofocus with the D40.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2006, 3:32 AM   #5

AF-S lenses have a built in motor, AF ones don't. All Nikon SLRs so far have had a motor built into the body so can use either. The D40 doesn't have the motor built into the body - hence the limited range of lenses it can autofocus with.

Keith.
Old Nov 24, 2006, 3:53 AM   #6

Can anyone tell me what are the drawbacks of using manual focus lenses on D40. will it effect the photos if not used properly.
asim24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2006, 10:12 AM   #7

Provided you don't mind manually focusing, it is not a problem. I never use autofocus on my 60mm Micro Nikkor anyway. However, the autofocus is excellent at catching birds in flight, even on my old 70-300ED, so I wouldn't want to be without it.

Keith.
Old Nov 24, 2006, 12:20 PM   #8
Administrator

asim24 wrote:
Quote:
Can anyone tell me what are the drawbacks of using manual focus lenses on D40. will it effect the photos if not used properly.