Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jan 4, 2007, 2:26 PM   #1

I have a few lens in mind the nikon 70-300mm 4.5-5.6 af-s VR, the nikon 80-200mm f2.8 D ED AF or the sigma 50-500mm 4-6.3.

At the moment I have a sigma 28-300mm 3.5-6.3, it a good enough lens but need something better. I mainly take rally and autograss photos. The 80-200mm is the usual rally lens, but are the others good enough the other nikon has VR.

Any ideas on which to chose.
d_oshea is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 4, 2007, 3:36 PM   #2
rey

I have no experience with any of the lens you mentioned, but in general VR won't help much with moving subjects. But if you're shooting far away and always use at the 300mm end, then VR may help.

I used to have the cheap 70-300G (with my D50) that I used for shooting drifting and my main problem with it was focusing speed since it didn't have focusing motor and the D50's motor is kinda slow. Also glass quality was a problem. As far as light, it was fast enough for sunny california weather.

If I was in your position, I'd probably pick between Nikon's 80-200 and the Sigma 50-500. Since you already have a lens that goes up to 300mm, you should be looking for a shorter lens but produces great quality (80-200), or a longer lens that produces decent quality (50-500).

Good Luck!

rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2007, 3:12 PM   #3

I would say that the 70-300mm VR is a good choice.

If you're going to shoot at 300 most of the time, the VR is going to help you alot (if you plan on shooting handheld). Also, this lenshas a fast focus, with the silent wave motor included, so can set your camera at AF-C and won't miss a shot.
jotajota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2007, 12:11 PM   #4