Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jan 27, 2007, 2:56 PM   #1

I have got a D80 with 18-135 mm kits lens. I am very new in this DSLR, so learning about DSLR and shooting around with this kit lens for a month. I am very pleased with the quality of the pictures that I have with this lens.

TodayI bought a AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 for portrait shooting. As I said I am a newbie in this DSLR, I have some problem usingthis 50mm lenswith D80. My problem is:

When Irotate the APerture ring to select the f/1.8... f/16 on the aperture scale, the camera top lcd panel shown "FEE" error and cannot press the shutter button. According to the manual book (pg 132), "FEE" error message means Lens aperture ring not locked at minimum aperture.. (In this case f/22.)

If I select f/22 on the lens I can takethe picture.

Does it mean the 50mm f/1.8 AF lens should be set up to minimum aperture f/22 with D80 to take a picture? Is this normal?

What is the difference between Lens aperture and camera aperture? I can use aperture f-stop1.8 to 22 on the camera body by using the frontwheel in A/P/M modes when aperture ring on the lens is setting to 22. So I confuse about these two terms. The f-stop is constant in other modes (cannot change with front wheel) and it depends on the mode selected.

Someone please explain me urgently as if the lens has a problem I can change it in 3 days. (Monday)

Thanks.

chwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 27, 2007, 3:24 PM   #2

It just means you have to leave the lens locked at f22, and then set the aperture in camera. This is just the case with some lenses, so I'm sure the lens is fine. Just leave it locked at 22 and set the aperture using the camera.
goomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2007, 4:08 PM   #3