Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jun 10, 2007, 12:48 AM   #1

I Did it

I clicked the bid button and I am now a digital photographer. Or I will be when the mail gets here assuming the camera is in good working order as promised. I didn't want to buy used but that was my only real option financially.

But now I need some help.

The camera is a Nikon D50

I need to get a battery (or two) and charger for it. I see some really cheap generic ones on ebay but I don't know how good they will be. Any advice here???

I have Nikon lenses from 17mm to 400mm but they are all older manual focus. I have no problem with using a hand held meter. But it seems I should have at least one lens that can take advantage of all the fancy metering functions in the camera. Any suggestions?
tjsnaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 10, 2007, 1:02 AM   #2
Administrator

Your best bet for specific advise regarding your camera model is probably to ask it in one of the Nikon DSLR specific forums.

Since you're interested in lenses, I'll go ahead and move this thread to our Nikon Lenses Forum now.

But, you may want to give a bit more information (budget, desired focal range, intended use, etc.). ;-)

Any modern Nikkor Autofocus lens should meter OK with a D50, and there are a lot of different Autofocus lenses available in Nikon mount (including lenses from third party manufacturers like Sigma, Tokina and Tamron).

Because of the smaller sensor size compared to 35mm film, you'll have a narrower angle of view (more apparent magnification) for a given focal length lens. Basically, to see how the angle of view would compare to the same lens on a 35mm camera, just multiply it by 1.5x. IOW, a 50mm lens on a camera with an APS-C size sensor like your D50 would give you the same angle of view that you'd have using an 75mm lens on a 35mm camera.