Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Nov 23, 2007, 11:45 AM   #1

I have a Nikon D40x with the kit lens and a 70-200 telephoto. I want to get a prime lens (the nikon 50mm f1.8D AF) which I can just afford, but I'd also like to get a macro lens, which there's no way I can afford right now.

I'm an amateur photog, working to improve my skills, and have a strong interest in macro photography - love taking pics of flower parts, bugs, etc.

My question is, if I get the prime, can it be used as a macro? Will it work better than the D40 kit lens? Any other recommendations/ideas for a macro on a limited budget?

Thanks for any help.
Ed
ejbSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 23, 2007, 1:13 PM   #2

It depends on which lens you're talking about. Nikon's macro lenses are primes (the 60, 105, and 200) but are labeled as "micro". Nikon has other prime lenses that are not macro. The micro lenses are typically more expensive than their regular counterparts. Micro lenses can reproduce subjects at life size or bigger (1:1). Non dedicated macro zooms do ok, non macro's are very limited. Sure you can take close ups, but they won't be true macro shots.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2007, 2:13 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply.

The prime lens I've been looking at, the Nikon 50mm f1.8AF, is just a prime, marketed (and reviewed well) as very sharp, good in low/interior light, good for portraits. It is 1:1. I know it's not a true macro, but I'm wondering if it would do better than the stock lens (18-55) or the 70-200 I bought to go with it. The 50mm is ~110, but the cheapest macro lens seems to be ~300+, which is out of my budget right now.

I'd rather have the macro than the prime, though I'd rather have both, but not yet.

Thanks,
Ed

Old Nov 23, 2007, 2:21 PM   #4