Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Nov 25, 2007, 12:03 PM   #1

I am totally new to SLR/DSLR and I am about to buy the D80 with the kit lens. I am totally overloaded with info on both but I'm still not sure which one to get. I want to photgraph my little girl and landscape for the most part. Which one do you think is best for my start (it could be my only one for awhile). I've been looking forward to being an slr owner for years so I really want to make the best decision. Also, I really love the effect of a blurred background and sharp subject - is either of these capable of this? If not which one should I look at as my next purchase to achieve this effect (budget is an issue)? All suggestions are welcomed and appreciated.
rickschick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 29, 2007, 2:41 AM   #2

Hi
If you don't have plan to have more lenses my suggestion is 18-135. Blured background is hard to achive with slow lenese with aperture 5.6, blured background must be min 2 meters far of the object, this is my experience with portret pictures , with lens 85 mm 5.6. Fast lens with aperture 2.8 or less is to expensive for me. With d80 you can check DOF and test lens in the shop. I hope I help you.
emes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2007, 4:30 AM   #3

If you are set on one of those two lenses then the 18-135 is the better deal, simply becuase of the extra tele range for not much more cash. Also, 135mm will give you more background blur at f/5.6 than the 70 will give you at f/4.5. Don't expect supoer creamy bokeh with either one, but as you avoid sparkly crap or strong, sharp patterns in your backgrounds you should be fine.

Do you have a good reason to buy the D80 instead of a D40/D40x?
David French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2007, 5:23 AM   #4

David French wrote:
Quote: