Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jan 5, 2008, 12:19 PM   #1

I found out just today that my husband has ordered a Nikon D40 for me (it's my first digital camera, and I've been looking -- there's a thread on this forum, I was having a lot of trouble deciding -- and he quite sweetly suprised me with this) -- it comes with a two lens kit along with the standard kit package:

18-55 mm f/3.5 - 5.6 G ED II AF-S DX Zoom Nikkor

and

55 - 200 mm f/4 - 5.6 G ED IF AF-S DX VR Zoom Nikkor

I'm just starting out, but primarily interested in expanding my photo skills to doing (in this order):

1. Nature -- landscape/wildlife, I like extremes of atmosphere conditions, very wide angle shots (like to capture the wide open feeling here in the Midwest -- which also entails...really cruddy weather conditions 90% of the time)

2. Macro -- plant life in particular (husband's a master gardener; I like to take shots of his work), lots of cropping

3. Protraits/intimate candid -- pets and people, very intimate/immediate, spur of the moment shots, not into traditional, very composed studiowork

4. Some action/sports -- the kids' horse shows (not really going to be doing much of this -- but do work with horses, dogs, kids a lot as subjects -- and even for portrait work, these guys aren't known for standing still and posing -- unlike the trees and flowers!)

5. Some "artsy" special effect work -- I'm a visual arts/literature major who would like to go back to contributing some creative pieces to the local art community and display in the local coffee shops; after I masterthis dslrwell enough to take shots of "normal" things I'd like to express my "artsy" self a little with different effects -- plus I like to incorporate my photos into mixed media artwork