Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jun 11, 2008, 8:12 AM   #1

Hello everyone! I am a newbie, but have serious questions.

I currently own a Nikon D80 SLR, I have about 3 lens but I am about to venture on a Alaskan land and sea Cruise and want to get something that I will be able to get the best shot.

Let me give you a little background so you can help me here:

I have had the D80 for over a year, I take pictures for fun, not for a career.

I have the following:

Nikon DX AF-S Nikkor 18-130 1:3.5-5.6G ED lens which I use the most for day to day photos

AF Nikkor 28-80mm 1:3.3-5.6G lens I hardly ever use with the D80 (maybe 2 times in the past year)

Tamron AF 75-300mmb 1:4-5.6LD Tele-Macro 1:3.9 lens that I use on occasion but I find my photos get fuzzy.

Nikon SB 800 flash, bogen tripod w/ joystick head and a mono pod

My latest toy is a Promaster 2x auto focus Teleconverter, which I haven't played with much. I figured it would help me get closer pictures, and of course with my current lenses it is a bit fuzzy especially with out the tri/mono pod.

So here is my question – I am looking at the VR (vibration reduction) Nikon lens, in particular the following 2

Nikon AF 80-400mm VR Zoom Nikkor F/4.5-5.6D EDfor around $1500

And the Nikon AF-S 70-300mm VR Zoom-Nikkor F/4.5-5.6G ED-IF for around $500

The price difference is significant. I would like to use this for my trip to AK, as well as pictures of deer, birds or what ever else I can find to photograph.

What is your opinion? Which one should I get? With the Teleconverter I am thinking the 70-300 would be best, but can I really justify getting a lens similar to what I already have?

Oh and also, I am no pro – I am still looking for a class in my area to show me how to truly use my camera in the manual mode (fstop, etc) – so many photos will be taken Auto Focus, although I have been trying manual on my own.. just not good with it.