Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jun 21, 2008, 8:32 AM   #1

I'm brand new to the digital SLR world so please excuse me if this seems like a silly question. I'm in the process of researching a new digital camerea and I believe I'm going to go with the D80. I don't know what len(s) to purchase with this camera. The primary usage will be for taking family pictures and taking picture so of my daughter's ice skating competitions/performances. The reaon I'm upgrading cameras is that my current Olympus (8080) doesn't do a very good job when you zoom in and try to capture action shots - tons of blurring - which may have to do with my shakey hand. So for the pictures of ice skating I ssupect I will need something that is pretty fast, has image stabiliation, and can work in lower light siuations. For the family every day pictures a more general purpose lens may be appropriate.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Jeff

jSQL is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 21, 2008, 11:54 AM   #2
Administrator

If you want to take shots of rapidly moving subjects in very low light indoors, you're going to need a very bright lens (with wider available apertures, represented by smaller f/stop numbers). You'll also need higher ISO speeds (which is how sensitive the sensor is to light). Otherwise, your shutter speeds are not going to be fast enough to reduce motion blur from subject movement to a reasonable tolerance level so you can get a higher percentage of keepers.

If budget permits, I'd probably lean towards the D300 instead in a Nikon solution, since it's going to be a bit more usable at ISO 3200 if you need it (with even higher ISO speeds available). I'd also go with a fast prime (fixed focal length versus zoom lens) like an 85mm f/1.8 AF lens if you can get close enough to use it for most shots. It's much brighter than a zoom.