Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Sep 6, 2008, 1:53 AM   #1

Hey guys, I am brand new to DSLRS, and hope to purchase my first Nikon D40 or D60 within the next week. My question is, what would be a good lens to purchase after I get my camera? Also, what types of shooting can I do with the stock lens, or what is it good for? I plan on taking pictures of people, not portraits, but regular scenes. I'm a film major so Ill be shooting a lot of scenery, locations, as well as people in action. I know the basics about shooting, camera operation and digital photography terms, apature, shutter speed, all the basics. Although differences in lens's has me a little confused. In addition to reccomendations, a quick rundown or a link to an informative page on lenses would be great!
Thanks.
IMLegion is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 6, 2008, 6:17 AM   #2

The kit lens is pretty good and from what you say, it should probably suit your purposes nicely. Unless you have something specific in mind, I think you should wait until the kit lens won't do something you want. The kit lens on the Nikons you mentioned has an angle of view from 76° to 29°, which isa good range to start with. Only you would know (or learn) if you need to go wider or longer.

You mention that you will be shooting "people in action", so I caution you that the entry level Nikons (D40/D40X/D60) have probably the worst autofocus system for that. If you're talking about sports or action, I think you might want to rethink your choice, but if you're just talking about people walking around I think you'll be ok.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2008, 7:34 AM   #3
Administrator

Welcome to the forums.

The D40, D40x and D60 models are somewhat unique in the Nikon lineup, because they require lenses with built in focus motors if you want to use Autofocus.