Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Dec 1, 2008, 7:59 PM   #1

Hi - I have a Nikon D40X. I have the 18-55 and the 55-200VR. The thing is that we are going to Switzerland and France in the Spring. I would really rather just take one lense. I live in Canada and the 18-200 lense is $799. plus 12% tax. People say I take very good pictures, however, I am only a novice and have not had much experience with the D40X. I find even now that if I have not taken both lenses with me I often regret it. Thanks for any comments or advice.

Shari
Shari is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 1, 2008, 9:26 PM   #2

Shari-

I was in you very same position just about 1 year ago. I went ahead and purchased the Nikkor 18-200mmVR lens, and it was definitely NOT WORTH the price. My 18-55mm and 55-200mm were in the final analysis, sharper, equally or more useful, and by gosh, if I had remainined with the 18-55 and 55-200mm combination, I would have SAVED a whole lot of money.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2008, 5:17 AM   #3

The 18-200 is a good lens. Not great, as there is obvious distortion at the extremes, some of which is not easily correctable. However, stopped down a little, it is fairly sharp. It is also lightweight, focuses quick, and incredibly convenient. I think it is a little overpriced, but it is also probably the best lens in its class, and no other manufacturer comes close to it's quality, so maybe price is justified. It really is the perfect one lens solution (or at least a perfect as a one lens solution can be). If you want to travel, and are willing to give up a little in quality, this lens is the perfect option. If you're most concerned with quality, there are certainly better options.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2008, 1:06 PM   #4