Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Feb 16, 2009, 11:29 AM   #1

Hello. I love the look of photos with very low DOF's where the background is blurred. The smallest f-stop number my current lenses go to is f/4. I have been looking online at lenses but am not sure if I am totally off base as to what to get (I am relatively new to DSLR photography). I also was looking for something that might be better in low light situations. This was the one I was considering. Am I looking at the right lens? I don't have a ton of money to spend. Thanks in advance.

It's the Nikon 50mm f/1.8D lens...

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...kkor_50mm.html

bkond08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 16, 2009, 11:31 AM   #2

Sorry, I forgot to add that I just have the Nikon D40x.
Old Feb 16, 2009, 1:13 PM   #3
Administrator

That lens isn't going to Autofocus on a D40x.

The Nikon D40, D40x and D60 models require lenses that have focus motors built in if you want Autofocus. For example, Nikon's AF-S (Silent Wave Motor) lenses or Sigma's HSM (Hypersonic Motor) lenses. For other brands, you need to take them on a case by case basis (some have built in motors, some require that you use a camera body that has a focus motor built in). The Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 AF lens would work using manual focus on a D40x. But, it's not AF-S, so it wouldn't Autofocus on your camera.

Nikon has a new 50mm f/1.4 AF-S lens now. Sigma also has a newer 50mm f/1.4 HSM lens. These would both Autofocus on a D40x, but they would cost you a lot more. Nikon also recently announced a 35mm f/1.8 AF-S (Silent Wave Motor Focusing) DX lens that would Autofocus on a D40x. But, you may prefer a bit longer focal length, depending on what you're trying to shoot. You can read more about that one here:

http://www.steves-digicams.com/digin...l#nikon_dx35mm