Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Mar 21, 2009, 4:25 PM   #1

I am a newbie to DSLR photography having just purchased a Nikon D50 with kit lens (18-55). I would like to purchase a medium telephoto for taking pictures of my son while he is riding his scooter and running around in the local playground/park.
From reviews I have read this seems to be a good lens, but am not sure how the push pull auto focus works. Is the focusing done with the onboard auto focus motor on the camera or is there a motor in the lens ?

Any advice would be gratefully received

dotibwai is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 22, 2009, 12:55 AM   #2

Hi, and welcome to Steve's. The lens you are looking at is very good. The "d" version of this lens focuses faster and closer than the non-"d".

"From reviews I have read this seems to be a good lens, but am not sure how the push pull auto focus works."

I assume you are talking about the zoom, not the focus, which is auto and done by the in-camera focus motor. Manual focussing would be done by turning the focus ring at the end of the lens.

As you probably know, all lenses of the same kind may have minor differences ( one may be sharper than another) so take reviews at less than face value. As far as tests are concerned, no amount of lab tests are going to show you a picture of your kids or dog. Only you can do that.

I've used the lens and found it to be very sharp, especially at f/8 to f/10at 210mm and at 70mm at any aperture, even wide open. If you can get it for a decent price, that will make the deal sweeter and you will enjoy the lens I am sure.

Robert
Hawgwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2009, 4:42 AM   #3

Thanks for the prompt reply. I am hoping to pick the D version of the lens up in the next couple of days. Will let you know how I get on.

Old Mar 23, 2009, 8:53 AM   #4