Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jul 23, 2009, 8:01 AM   #1

Default Tamron with VC 18-270mm or 28-300mm

I was wondering what would be the better lens between the two for my Nikon D40? I'm leaning towards the 18-270. Anyone have any experience with these lenses?

I currently have the Tamron non VC autofocus 18-200mm and I'm not really satisfied wit the results. The sharpness seems to be off. But having the capability to reach out is a plus (so I use it more than the kit lens that the camera came with). I thought I could live with it because of the price that i got it for. But I guess the saying you get what you pay for is true in this situation. As soon as I return home from my trip I will exchange the 18-200 to either one in the title above.

I'm a newbie to DSLR and I just like to take a lot of pictures to show off to my wife or to reminisce. So which one is a better lens to make a scrap book with?

v/r

Rick
rambilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 23, 2009, 8:40 AM   #2
Administrator

None of the "super zoom" type lenses are going to be great as compared to higher quality lenses with a less ambitious focal range from wide to long (i.e., using more than one lens to cover the same range).

Here are a couple of reviews for the Tamron 18-270mm VC you may want to look at. They're both on Canon versus Nikon bodies.

This review was using the lens on a Canon EOS-50D (15MP model). Keep in mind that the higher resolution sensor should place more demands on the lens quality needed for best results compared to using one on your D40.

http://www.photozone.de/canon-eos/41...0_3563vc_canon

Here's a review showing it on a lower resolution Canon EOS-20D (8MP):

http://www.slrgear.com/reviews/showp...ct/1217/cat/23