Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Aug 7, 2009, 12:48 AM   #1

Default A Good Everyday Lens for D90

Hey everybody,

Last weekend I tripped and took a rather nasty fall, unfortunately so did my camera. I somehow managed to snap the kit lens completely off the body and now it won't even attach. So I was wondering what lens should I get for my d90 that is good for everyday shooting? I'm rather new to lens hunting/buying so this is definitely strange territory for me. For now, I'm just carrying around the p90. Can anybody help me?
alphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 7, 2009, 4:34 AM   #2
Super Moderator

That sounds painful.

I would get the mount on the camera checked for damage just in case there is a problem there as well.

What is your budget for a new lens as there are a wide range available.

Although you say that you want general photography is there anything you do more than anything else, situations where you found the kit lens to struggle etc?
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2009, 9:47 AM   #3

I use the Nikon 18-105mm lens as my walk around lens. It is relatively small, very sharp, in an excellent focal length range for my shooting.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2009, 10:08 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark1616 View Post
That sounds painful.

I would get the mount on the camera checked for damage just in case there is a problem there as well.

What is your budget for a new lens as there are a wide range available.

Although you say that you want general photography is there anything you do more than anything else, situations where you found the kit lens to struggle etc?

Thankfully there is no damage to the mount. I had already broken the lens a few months back, guess the fall just finished it off.