Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Mar 21, 2010, 9:10 PM   #1

Default Nikon micro 85mm f3.5 ed vr dx lens

Hi everyone
I am new to dslr photography.
I have a Nikon D3000 and I would like to do close up photography so I am looking to purchase a macro lens and would like your thoughts on the NIKON MICRO 85MM F3.5 ED VR DX LENS it is within my price range so some pro's and con's on this lens would be great.
thank you in advance.
orilliaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 21, 2010, 9:22 PM   #2

http://www.slrgear.com/reviews/showp...ct/1301/cat/12

There are no bad macro lenses. What there aren't a lot of are stabilized macro lenses. This one and the Nikon 105/2.8 are all there is, and the 105/2.8 costs a lot more. The 85 is only a /f3.5 so the viewfinder won't bas a bright, but almost, and it's a lot cheaper. And image stabilization might not be great for 1:1 macro, but for 1:2 or 1:3, having it is better than not having it.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2010, 10:54 PM   #3

Default Thanks

Thanks for the info.
The reviews I read make this lens sound pretty good.
I know at the end of the day its my choice but good info from people like yourself is always appreciated.
orilliaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2010, 8:04 AM   #4
NHL

Quote:
Originally Posted by orilliaman View Post
Hi everyone
... I would like to do close up photography so I am looking to purchase a macro lens and would like your thoughts on the NIKON MICRO 85MM F3.5 ED VR DX LENS it is within my price range so some pro's and con's on this lens...
If you're into macro:

1. No one really shoot macro @ f/2.8... The wide aperture is there to make it easier to manual focus (a must in macro); However the macro lens needs to be closed down to increase its DOF on all if not most macro images

2. A flash is a must (the lens is stop-down for that DOF from above?)