Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jun 8, 2010, 11:58 AM   #1

Default i may have got the wrong lens????

i just bot a NIKON D5000 with a NIKKOR 18-200 (f3.5-5.6)...being a newbie, thot i could get by with one general purpose lens....i am a painter, and like closeup shots of flowers,leaves, bark etc....but i must be doing sumthin wrong ...have tried autom., closeup and blossom and most photos come out blurred...am not able to get centre of flower even close to sharp....my panasonic lumix took better shots close up and distance....pls. tell me i am not setting the camera rite....remember....basic language...thanks
storeybook is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 8, 2010, 12:06 PM   #2

The 18-200 is a convenient lens, but it's not very good. If you have something specific in mind that you want to photograph, you'd be better off getting a lens that's more appropriate for that task, instead of using a jack-of-all-trades-and-master-of-none lens.

What do you want to photograph?

Can you post some examples of the shots you took with the D5000 that you're not happy with?

Last edited by TCav; Jun 8, 2010 at 12:16 PM.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 12:31 PM   #3

..uh, my photos are in Picasa....how do i post them on this forum?
Old Jun 8, 2010, 12:49 PM   #4

You could post a link to you Picasa galleries here, or you could copy the photos from Picasa and paste them into your posts here.
Old Jun 8, 2010, 7:10 PM   #5

,,whew, thanks...i think my main problem is trying to get too close...like i used to with my old 80-200 MACRO zoom on my filmSLR CANON A-1....i think i panicked..i wish i could afford a specific MACRO lens, but i'll have to sell a few more paintings 1st
...all i can afford is a jack-of-all-trades
..so if you have any general suggestions....i will experiment more...am not very manual savee...thanks in advance

d
DSC_0034.JPG

DSC_0039.JPG

DSC_0035.JPG