Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jul 9, 2010, 1:25 PM   #1

Default Lens advice for D5000

Hi guys, I need some advice for getting another lens for my new D5000. I have the standard kit lens but need something that would cover most situations. I know that there will be a lens best suited to each aspect of photography but as I am new to DSLR's I need some help!
Kenzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 9, 2010, 1:59 PM   #2

What do you want to photograph?

The strength of a dSLR over other camera types is that you can get lenses that are designed for a specific purpose. The lenses that try to do a lot of things don't do many of them very well, and negate the dSLR's advantage. There are lenses that have long zoom ranges, but where their ranges overlap, they don't perform as well as the 18-55 kit lens you already have. They also are heavy and expensive, often more so than individual lenses that do a better job. And while they are dim, they also often block the flash you would need to use.

I think you'd be better off with something that would suppliment, rather than replace the lens you've already got.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2010, 3:17 PM   #3

You might find it useful to read this beginner's buying guide to dSLR lenses: http://www.dpreview.com/learn/?/Guid...g_guide_01.htm

FWIW
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2010, 11:22 AM   #4

So what do you guys think of these two?

http://www.jessops.com/online.store/...6332/show.html

http://www.jessops.com/online.store/...3537/show.html
Old Jul 10, 2010, 11:27 AM   #5