Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jan 24, 2011, 9:19 PM   #1

Default Good lens for indoor sports?

Hi, I am new to this site and new to photography. A good bit of the terminology escapes me. I have been reading many of the threads trying to find an answer to my question but I am not good at interpreting a lot of the information.

I have a Nikon D3000. I would like to take good photos of my kids playing indoor basketball and indoor soccer. I'm doing fine with outdoor soccer and baseball and general pictures with my current lenses but the indoor basketball season last year could have been better. Although I did much better than the other moms and was fairly pleased, my photos don't compare to those I have seen on this site.

I have the standard kit lens AF-S Nikkor 18-55mm 3.5 - 5.6 G and AF-S Nikkor 70-300mm 4.5 -5.6 G. I know I need a faster lens but I am not sure what is best.

I stopped by my local camera store last summer and they recommended the AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm 1.8. I am afraid 35mm is not long enough (if that is the right term). I think they said it's equivalent to 50mm which I don't understand but in any event, I spent most of the basketball season using my 70 - 300 at the lower end to have the faster speed and played around with the settings as best I could. Will I be disappointed with the 35 mm ?? I can stand on the baseline for most games but I would also like to be able to shoot from the stands.

Since my camera does not have the motor in the body I know I am limited to the AF-S lenses and it seems like slim and very expensive pickings for anything from 1.4 - 2.8.

The 35 mm is very inexpensive, then I see the 50 mm just above it. From there it jumps to the 85 mm. Then in the zooms I see the 24 - 70 and the 70 -200.