Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Mar 27, 2011, 9:55 AM   #1

Default Looking for Lenses for Nikon D3100

Hi,

I am new here but I have been taking photographs for a while on a Canon that takes film. I am purchasing a Nikon D3100 online today but I am looking for lenses. I am new to Nikon so I need some sggestions. I need lenses that will help with my photography business. I currently do baby and children photo shoots but I am starting to do weddings. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Joni is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 27, 2011, 10:34 AM   #2

What lenses did you use with your Canon?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 1:12 AM   #3

Shooting baby and children photos and possibly weddings. First lens I would recommend is a prime, the Nikon 35mm 1.8. It's and AF-S lens so it should serve you well. It really depends on your style of shooting and also if you are using speedlights and/or flash.
AF-S lenses or third party lenses with BIM (built in motors) will be what you should be looking at.
Like TCav mentioned what kind of lenses did you use with your Canon?
vIZnquest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 6:17 AM   #4

One of the bright standard zooms seems much more versatile for the indicated applications than a prime. If money is not a big concern, the Nikon 24-70 f/2.8 would be a reasonable choice. Sigma makes a 24-70 f/2.8 for half the cost of the Nikon, and Tamron makes a 28-75 f/2.8 for about half the cost of the Sigma. Each is well-regarded within its price-point.
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 12:19 PM   #5

I agree with tclune on that recommendation but it would be helpful to let us know what your shooting style and preferences are. I have the Tamron 28-75mm 2.8 without the BIM. It is a permanent fixture on one of my D200's.
vIZnquest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2011, 7:13 PM   #6