Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old May 13, 2011, 8:17 AM   #1

Default Input on 35mm f/ 1.8 AF-S DX Nikkor

I shoot w/ a D90 and have the 18-55 kit lens along w/ the 70-300 lens. I'm a newbie to photography looking to shoot families, children, babies...(portrait and candid)
I do not have an external flash and was looking for something to shoot indoors w/ that can handel low light. Is this a good fit? I know very little about lenses. A photographer who recently took my families photos is selling this lens for $100. I'm tempted to try it however, don't have a $100 of "play" money!?

Thanks
Jen
Wink11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 13, 2011, 8:47 AM   #2

The Nikon 35 f/1,8 is a wonderful lens, and a light sponge. It feels like it could shoot in the dark. However, that doesn't mean that you should shoot in the dark. I would probably pounce on the 35mm because it's a great buy. But you really need a flash unit, too. No lens is going to create light where none exists. There is no wide aperture or high ISO that can substitute for that.
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2011, 2:51 PM   #3

Thanks. I think I will Have you ever personally used this lens?

Yes, I need lighting and post processing...I have the photog fever!!
Old May 13, 2011, 3:13 PM   #4

Great buy. I have this lens. It stays on my camera more than any other. The sharpness is above and beyond the 18-55. On DX it's a great people lens.

I've posted this here before but here is a good sharpness example:

Full pic -

Roxie closeup by thedigme, on Flickr

100% crop -

100% Crop by thedigme, on Flickr

$100 is a steal. People have been charging almost $300 for them lately and they've been hard to get.

See my flickr feed for lots of portraits taken with this lens:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/

brad
DigMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2011, 3:32 PM   #5