Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Oct 17, 2011, 12:31 PM   #1

Default Advice for purchasing D5100 and lenses HELP!

I'm new to photography and looking to purchase my first DSLR. I've decided on the Nikon D5100, but I'm trying to figure out what lens. I'm interested in a variety of shots...action (I have a greyhound I'd like to get action shots of), wildlife/landscapes, some portrait...basically a little of everything at the moment. I'm sure that will change as I start shooting.

Now I've found lots of deals on D5100's that have kit lenses with them, usually 18-55mm VR and/or 55-300mm VR. I've been told I'd be better off buying the body and getting a better lens. I was recommended Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 as a good everyday use lens. I have a few questions though...
-Is there any image stabilization with these lenses? How important is it?
-Should I get a kit setup with the Nikon 18-55mm lens then look for a Tamron Telephoto (or vice versa)? I would like to have the option of a longer lens, but I'm trying to keep the initial cost down.

Anyother advice? I'm very new and trying to get better informed....oh and NOT GO BROKE!
Hokiebuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 17, 2011, 1:38 PM   #2

Personally, I find the kit lenses just too dark to suit my needs. So I agree with the idea of buying the body and lenses separately. If you don't do indoor event shooting or the like, then the kit lens might do you fine. The kit lenses are adequately sharp, just not bright enough.