Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Nov 2, 2011, 4:35 AM   #1

Default Nikkor Lenses

I'm the kind of person who would pay up to 20% extra to get better quality. Which is why I've always wanted to buy Nikkor lenses instead of equivalent Sigma lenses.

My problem is, I don't want to buy a lot of lenses. What I want is just two lenses which do their job perfectly well.

Now, I'm working with a 50mm 1.8 which is a place holder for my next investment.

I'm just indecisive about few lenses and not sure which one I should pick for general street shots for a vacation. Taking shots of people, places, natural scenes, historical places..etc

First, I want a wide lens. Not sure which one would be a good wide lens I have no experience with them.

Second lens is the 85mm 1.4; I think it will take excellent street shots of people or places.

Third is the 70-200 2.8 VR 2 (or VR 1) and I think this one is going to be an excellent and versatile lens for taking a lot of things. Down side is the lens' size is too big.

What do you guys suggest?
Dunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 3, 2011, 2:09 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunes View Post
I'm the kind of person who would pay up to 20% extra to get better quality. Which is why I've always wanted to buy Nikkor lenses instead of equivalent Sigma lenses.
You can't judge a lens by it's brand. Every manufacturer makes some gems and some duds. You need to look at every lens on its own merits, and how those merits coincide with your needs and expectations.

Quote:
My problem is, I don't want to buy a lot of lenses. What I want is just two lenses which do their job perfectly well. ... Third is the 70-200 2.8 ...

Quote:
Second lens is the 85mm 1.4; I think it will take excellent street shots of people or places.