Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Dec 28, 2011, 6:28 PM   #1

Default First time Nikon SLR'er seeking help w/lenses!

I got into photography a few years ago with a Sony cyber shot DSC-H9 camera which served me well but I think I have out grown it. I Recently picked up a used Nikon D5100 body online at a good price ($450) and am looking for feedback on which lenses to buy for it since I'm still a relative newbie to photography, especially SLR's and interchangeable lenses.

I want more manual control over my shots, especially controlling depth of field and focus through aperture settings etc. Having the option to change lenses now has made me more confused than ever! I don't understand all the nuances or what I should be looking for in a lense that would be best for me at this stage! I see all these AF, VR, f-stops, focal lengths and most importantly right now, prices! There's such a huge difference in prices between these lenses and I don't know enough yet to know what is right for me at this stage and what is overkill.

Here are some things to consider:

1) I'm still learning photography. It's still a hobby so I don't want to invest thousands of dollars on lenses. I'm looking to take the next step in my development and buy a lense (or lenses) which offer me more control than I had with my DSC-H9 but don't want to break the bank buying a lense or lenses I won't be able to take full advantage of yet given my skill set.

2) Convenience: I'm not sure if I'm better off buying a kit of lenses (e.g. 18-55mm & 55-300mm) or a single lense (18-200mm)? I'm still learning so I think having one lense capable of both wide angle and telephoto would be better but I'm not sure of the pros and cons.