Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jun 16, 2012, 11:22 AM   #1

Default Best lens for Nikon N70

Hello,
I am an amateur photographer and recently got a Nikon N70. I am very much into macro photography and I mainly do plants but also bugs whenever I get the chance to. I am trying to research on what kind of lens I should buy for my N70, so if anyone could help out with suggestions that would be great. I would prefer not to spend much over $200. Thank you!
-Alissa
alissac88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 16, 2012, 2:02 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by alissac88 View Post
I am an amateur photographer and recently got a Nikon N70. I am very much into macro photography and I mainly do plants but also bugs whenever I get the chance to. I am trying to research on what kind of lens I should buy for my N70, so if anyone could help out with suggestions that would be great.
There are a number of excellent lenses that will work well for what you say you want to do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alissac88 View Post
I would prefer not to spend much over $200.
That'll be tough.

KEH has a used Sigma 90mm f/2.8 1:2 macro lens that's almost like new, for $199. I've had one of these and been very pleased with it.

Everything else is 50% or more, over your budget.

Last edited by TCav; Jun 16, 2012 at 2:20 PM.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 3:14 PM   #3

For less money, you could use an extension tube (or two) with a lens you've already got, but they aren't as convenient as a true macro lens, and they magnify the flaws in the lens you use them with, so it should be pretty good (as in, the kit 18-55 doesn't qualify.)
Old Jun 16, 2012, 7:48 PM   #4