Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Aug 28, 2012, 2:05 PM   #1

Default Need advice for replacing or repair

Greetings all,

First of all, I want to preface that I'm an amateur and definitely not expertly familiar with the makings and workings of the camera.

My friend loaned me a D100 (extended loan).
Recently the lens mechanism broke. A friend of mine told me this happens eventually; he is familiar with this specific problem. The lens is a Nikon AF-S Nikkor 18-200. The telescoping mechanism does not properly align the segments of the lens, and if I shake it slightly, there is a tinkling sound as of something small floating loose within.

My friend advises me that this is usually just as costly to repair as to replace.
I cannot afford a new lens of this type, nor likely even a used one.

The features of this lens are certainly much more than I need for my photography habits. I do want this level of zoom, though. My friend showed me a lens which starts out wide-angle and zooms until 1:1. This is not what I need. I need to start out basically at 1:1 and zoom as much as an affordable lens would allow me. This is consistent with my photography habits.

Can anyone recommend a lens that would suit me, which would be more affordable than one of these? The less expensive, the better.

Thanks.
Dan
DanielT2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 28, 2012, 3:02 PM   #2

I don't know what you mean by 1:1 zoom. But, before you give up on the lens you have, are you sure it isn't still under warranty? If it is (the warranties on new lenses are quite long), you may be able to get it repaired for the price of shipment back to Nikon. FWIW
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 4:16 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by tclune View Post