Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Oct 19, 2012, 1:04 PM   #1

Default lenses

hi, im very new to photography, ive got a nikon d5100, im lookin at getting another lense, can someone tell me what is the difference between Nikon AF-S VR 70-300 f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED, Tamron AF 70-300mm F4-5.6 Di LD Macro 1:2 Nikon+Motor, Tamron AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD LD Aspherical IF Macro Zoom Lens with Built in Motor and nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300MM f/ 4.5-5.6G ED VR LENS. I no theres a difference in price, im not really understanding the letters and numbers, and that some are not compatable to the d5100. i want a good lense that will give me lots of zoom, and a good allrounder.
rugbygal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 19, 2012, 4:05 PM   #2

Default lense

hi, im very new to photography, ive got a nikon d5100, im lookin at getting another lense, can someone tell me what is the difference between Nikon AF-S VR 70-300 f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED, Tamron AF 70-300mm F4-5.6 Di LD Macro 1:2 Nikon+Motor, Tamron AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD LD Aspherical IF Macro Zoom Lens with Built in Motor and nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300MM f/ 4.5-5.6G ED VR LENS. I no theres a difference in price, im not really understanding the letters and numbers, and that some are not compatable to the d5100. i want a good lense that will give me lots of zoom, and a good allrounder.
Old Oct 19, 2012, 4:06 PM   #3

Default lenses

Old Oct 19, 2012, 4:15 PM   #4

G'day Ruby

Firstly - welcome to Steves forum where there are hundreds [or maybe lots more than hundreds] of keen photographers ...

You are asking a heap of Qs about lenses ~ good on you for asking before you commit your money for something that 'might' not suit

You say "im not really understanding the letters and numbers,,,"
Okay let's start with the "Nikon AF-S VR 70-300 f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED"
The text contains useful jargon to sellers & buyers alike, but comes down to