Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Sep 25, 2004, 8:38 AM   #1
maw

Hello,

Nikons PN-11 extension tube for the Nikon 105mm macro lens does not allow any of the D70 auto focus (and other) features to work I'm told. Kenko has an extension set (12, 20, 36mm) for Nikons lens AF-D types. Will these Kenko tubes work with a 105mm macro and allow AF and other D70 features to work, will they work with the Nikon D70 kit 18-70mm lens and the Nikon70-200mm VR lens? I assume the image quality for the PN-11 and the Kenko will be the same because no optics are involved in the extension tubes.

Thanks in advance,

Mike

maw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 26, 2004, 7:10 PM   #2

I have been using Kenko extension tubes for about ten years, now. I have used the same set on a N70, F100, and now the D100. All lens functions are coupled through. The tubes can be used in any combination or individually. However, when you start stacking them, you have to get very close to your subject and depth-of-field disappears! Anyway I would strongly recommend these extension tubes over many of the other macro techniques described in these forum, including the reverse lens technique.

Cal Rasmussen
calr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2004, 9:31 AM   #3
maw

Thanks Cal. I just ordered them from B&H. I'm fighting the very issues you mentioned, it's a tough problem when you get very close with DOF and lighting. Had any luck with macro flashes?

Mike
Old Sep 27, 2004, 10:31 AM   #4

I have not used or even heard of macro flashes. If you are referring to ring lights, the ones I have investigated are not flash units but simply a circular flourescent light that mounts on the lens. The ones I looked at on B&H do not include the power supply. It must be purchased separately.