Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Oct 10, 2004, 10:56 PM   #1

I'm strongly leaning towards a Nikon D70. Upgrading from Olympus C-700 UZ. I'm looking for quicker reaction times (no shutter lag) and quick bursts. This leads to my question. I take ALOT of action shots, baseball (outdoors of course) and my daughter dancing (both inside, low light, and outside, natural light) I'm thinking of buying the kit lens as a starter. But what about a lens for the action shots? IWILL be needing to zoom in. That is why I bought the C-700 in the 1st place (10x optical zoom). I'm a poor teacher and do not have a ton to spend. I've read about the Sigma 28-300 and see it's smallest, numerical, apeture setting is 3.5 up to 6.3. ($230) I've also read about the Nikon 28-200 G, but this is much more expensive. Any suggestions in the $200-$300 range? Or am I too low priced for the shots I plan on taking? Should I skip the kit lens and save the $200-$250 for the zoomier lens?

One more question...where can I get this stuff under retail? Most of the reviews of the online stores are not good to say the least.

Thanks for any advice.
brandofamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 11, 2004, 1:22 AM   #2