Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Dec 3, 2004, 2:19 PM   #1

I just(today) purchased an S1 from E Bay with Nikon 35-80mm zoom lens. Reading reviews on this lens would lead me to believe I need a more substantial lens. Because this camera is compatible in AE mode only with AF-D lenses, and I am a novice photog, what better lenses could be recommended?
lions201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 3, 2004, 8:55 PM   #2
Administrator

Welcome to the forums.

You made this post in the Fujifilm forum (which is for the non-DSLR Fuji models). We also have a Fujifilm Digital SLR Camera Forum.

But, you'd probably have a better chance of getting useful responses if you asked about lenses in Nikon Lenses Forum.

So, I'll move this post there now.

BTW, from what I can determine by looking at the lens compability charts, you are not limited to AF-D lenses. The camera's autoexposure should work fine with non-D type lenses, too. You will have a slight difference in metering choices. For example, 3D 6 zone metering and Center Weighted Metering is available with AF-D, AF-S, and AF-I lenses; with 6 zone (versus 3D 6 Zone) and Center Weighted Metering available with other Nikkor AF lenses.

3rd party (non-Nikon) lenses may not work properly (so, if you go non-Nikkor, it would be best to consult someone who has tried a lens on this model).

You may want to give users an idea of what you want to use the camera for, and in what conditions you'll be shooting.

Also, keep in mind that because the sensor in this model is smaller than 35mm film, the entire image circle projected by the lens is not used. So, you have what we call a "Crop Factor". With the S1 Pro, you need to multiply the actual focal length of the lens by 1.5 to get the 35mm equivalent focal length from an angle of view perspective.