Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Dec 5, 2004, 4:03 PM   #1

Hi Forum,

I investigated all I can:?, now I am stuck between the AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF and the Nikon AF zoom-Nikkor 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED. I am not a professional, just a hobby.However, I take pictures at weddings and often give to pics to the Bride and Groom. Also, family photos. I have the 18-70, however I wanted more zoom. I read bad and good reviews on the 24-120mm VR, however I also read that VR is the way to go even though the 28-200mm is a good lens (It does not have AF-S). I don't want a big gun like the 70-200 VR, F 2.8. Too expensive and heavy. I am exhausted of researching:yawn:. Any thoughts.

Regards,

Nadia
Nadia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 5, 2004, 8:36 PM   #2

I am not a pro and Iown the 28-200. AndI just bought a 24-120 VR (used) that I haven't received yet (on its way to me now). I really like the 28-200 - it is surprisingly competent for macro shots too (not 1:1). It's lightweight, long range, affordable and it focuses reasonably fast (not as fast as AF-S). IMO, it's worthall of its$300 price (new). I used it at a wedding recently with my SB-800 and I was very pleased with the results. Many believe it is an excellent walk-around lens and I tend to agree. It's not as bright as an f/1.8 or 2.8 for low light, but works well nonetheless. When I receive the 24-120 VR, I'll post my experience comparing the two.
tksuther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2004, 9:32 PM   #3

Nadia -either will serve you fine. The decision basically comes down to how much you're prepared to pay.

If you're used to the fast and silent focusing from 18-70 kit lens, I'd suggest going for the 24-120VR as you might find the non AF-S focusing of the 28-200G, being slower and more audible, to be "intrusive" (not that I believe it's the case - but others EXTREMELY fussy have noted).