Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Dec 28, 2004, 3:52 PM   #1

All,
I have gotten an US$ 350 gift card to buy a new lens for my D70, but it has become a dilemma. I am new to digital SLR and I bought my camera a month ago. I want to decide before the end of the week, so I can get the Nikon rebate, though. :-)

I have been using the kit lens and I am quite satisfied with it. However, I take a lot of handheld pictures indoors (mainly in museums) and it falls a bit short in its ability to capture light. I have researched an awful lot on what should be my low light lens and I have already discarded the 24-120mm VR. I am currently down to the 35mm f/2D and the 50mm f/1.8D. Which one is the more versatile of the two? The 35mm is supposedly the "normal" lens in digital, but what does that really mean (not technically, but in terms of importance)? Which one should I choose, or should I even consider something else? :?

Anyway, I think I will buy the 70-300mm ED in the future. However, if the 35mm f/2D is the best option, I will leave that for later, since I will not have money for both now.

Thanks a lot for the help!

LeoToni is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 28, 2004, 6:01 PM   #2

Now if I had your dilemma I probably would get the 50mm 1.8 at about $100 now. And ease back up to the 70-300 with the remaining $250. Trust me in those low light situations its well worth it and you wont go wrong, at a reasonable and affordable cost. Then again I guess you cant split the certificate, plus the rebate runs out. My suggestion automatically puts you back to square 1.
bern888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2004, 9:05 AM   #3

Thanks for the reply, Bern.

Do you think I could also use the 50mm f/1.8 as a micro lens in the future? I could not find any information about the maximum reproduction ration...
Old Dec 29, 2004, 12:29 PM   #4