Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old May 8, 2005, 10:26 AM   #1

I am a keen amateur and will be grateful for your advice.

Travelling Italy for 3 weeks end of May on my honeymoon. Would really appreciate thoughts from anyone who has lugged some equipment around on leisure trip. I will have a car for the most parts. Visiting the Northern Lakes, Venice, Tuscany region and Rome. My thoughts at present are to take the Lowepro trekker with D70, 24-120mm VR, 70-200mm VR. Thinking of buying the 12-24mm DX to cover the ultra wide angle end but not really sure if I need to or whether I chance it with the 24-120 VR to cover the wide angle. Would be a lighter load on the back for sure. Apart from spare battery, a card reader and 40GB storage like iPod Photo, airbrush, are there any MUST BRINGs? Any thoughts on small bean bag or monopod?

Thanks again.:?:
Davy28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 13, 2005, 5:48 PM   #2

Italy is famous for its architecture, both outside and inside (e.g., cathedrals). Even the 12-24 is not really wide enough, but it should be your highest priority take-along. I just spent two weeks in Sicily (had 3 camera bodies, but lost the plastic protector on one, so left it in bag).

Second highest priority for you should be a second camera body as backup and to save switching lenses (dropping and letting dust in). For pure backup even a film body will do but another dslr would be preferred (buy a used one off ebay).

There may well be times when 200mm is not enough. Would also consider good teleconverters such as Kenko Pro 300 1.4x and 2x. The latest versions will work with AFS and VR as well as with older AFD lenses. Nikon 1.7x seems to get good comments but is probably more expensive than the two kenkos put together. I generally leave the 1.4x on my 70-200 AFS all the time, but switched to the 2x when I needed more.